top of page
Student blog
Student Blog

Hello, my name is Bruce Harris. I am 22 years old and I’m originally from West Los Angeles, but I currently reside in Hawthorne. My future goals are to get to get my high school diploma next year, and after that get my associates degree in business management from El Camino college by 2019. My interest consist of writing poetry, bowling, cooking, and hanging with family. Something I believe in is that very few deserve a second chance and even less a third, do the right thing and stay committed, this quote keeps me motivated everyday.

Read Bruce Harri's Essay here

Hello, my name is Tyrone Potts. I am 20 years old and I am from South Central, Los Angeles. My future goals are to get my high school diploma next year 2016. My interest consist of playing sports, enjoying life with family, and making money. I believe that so what if people make more money. I know my time will come I have to wait for it every night I pray for it.

Read Tyrone Pott's Essay here


Hello, My name is Brian Garcia and I am 19 years old. I currently live in Inglewood, CA and my goals for the future are to go to college so I can go ahead and transfer to a 4 Year University so I can study to become a psychiatrist. Some of the things I’d like to share are that I love both listening and playing music. Some of my favorite bands consist of Green Day, Muse, Rise Against and Coldplay. I love coming to YouthBuild because it’s such a positive environment and I wouldn’t trade this for anything in the world.

Read Brian Garcia's Essay here

Indira Lopez, I’m 17 years old and I’m from Mexico Chiapas. Being accountant and a cosmetologist has always been my dreams and I’m sure I'm in the right path to embrace my dreams and goals for my future. I’m a hardworking girl and never give up in my goals because I know that if I keep on pushing myself to the right path I will get to the place I need to in order for me to be successful. I know that I have changed a lot since the day I started caring of my future and my life.

Indira Lopez's Essay

Hello, my name is Raisa Minely Alvarez. My birthday is on April 22. I’m 18 years old. I’m born and raised in Inglewood, CA. I enjoy hanging out with my family, and friends. I love animals I have two dogs and one cat. I’m a really down to earth person. This is my second year here at YouthBuild, and I will be graduating in June 2016. My goals are to accomplish honor roll this year here at YouthBuild. Another goal is to attend El Camino College, and pursue my career in Radiology, or as a Probation Officer. The most important goal to me is to make my parents proud, and buy my parents their own house. Also, another big goal is to be the best wife I can be, and be the best mother to my kids.

Read Raisa Alvarez's Essay here


Hello, my name is Maria Reyes, my birthday is on May 28, I'm 22 years old, I currently live in Inglewood, CA but I was born in Aguascalientes, Mexico. My future goals are to get my high school diploma next year in 2016, then go to college then become a flight attendant. I have 6 brothers and 2 sisters. The most important goal is to make my son and parents proud...

Read Maria Reyes's Essay here


Hi, my name is Leydy Quintero. I am 21 years old and I am from Culiacan Sinaloa. For those who don’t know it’s in Mexico but I was raised in Lennox CA. My future plans are to attend Santa Monica college and then transfer after 3 years to a University. After that I want to focus in Medical school or business management.  I know I should already know my career pathway but I feel I still have time to decide in what I want to do. Well I haven't discover my talents, I know it might sound funny but sadly I haven't had time to discover them. My life has always been working, going to school, and taking care of my little sisters so I haven't had time to find who I really am and what am good at. There is one thing I am good at, and that is dancing. I love to spend time with my kids I like to go to Disneyland, Six-flags and the Zoo. I am really good at math and in getting ideas to write in English only that I got to improve my grammar. I am a single mother and is hard to last at school, work and still come to my kids home and play but I am glad to having my babies because they inspire me to do good in everything I do. If it wasn't for them I doubt I would had came back to school. So having the role as a mother and father is hard but I am glad because I get all the love from them. Well that is just a little of my story hope you enjoyed it.


Read Leydy Quintero's Essay here

Hello! My name is Viviana Carrillo. I am 16 years old and I’m straight out of Lennox, CA. I will be graduating with my high school diploma with the class of 2017 and i hope to attend El Camino College to start on my career as a registered nurse. I enjoy reading, sleeping, and especially doing homework.


Read Viviana Carrillo's Essay here


My name is Alex Keaton. I am 17 years old. I am from View Park California. My future goals consist of attending college and later obtaining a college degree. After I fulfill my goal of receiving my college credentials I plan to start working as soon as possible in the field of sports no matter where it may be. I am interested in sports as well as photography so I’d love to expand in either fields if I am offered the opportunity.


Read Alex Keaton's Essay here

Hi everyone my name is Kimberly Gomez. I’m 18 year’s old my birthday is on October 28. I live in Inglewood CA but raised in Bell Gardens. My future goal is to graduate from Youth Build.  I'm half Mexican and Salvadorian, my dad is Mexican and my mom is Salvadorian. I have two brothers and one sister. I’m the youngest in the family. I love to dance, have fun, go out to the movies, restaurants and i love shopping. Going to the mall is my thing; I love to explore new malls. I love doing my nails with all my girl friends or sister. However, I have a boyfriend name Alex. We been together since November 28, 2011. He means a lot to me and my family as well.


Read Kimberly Gomez's Essay here

My name is Jorge Loza I am 18 years old I live in Lennox, CA. My goals for the future are to become a firefighter and be successful. My other goal for the future is to make my parents proud and save enough money to buy my parents a dream home. I describe myself as a skater because I enjoy skateboarding. I love to listen to music just mostly to rap. My favorite quotation is "the greatest pleasure in life is doing what people say you cannot do."


Read Jorge Loza's Essay here

Follow us on 
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
bottom of page