top of page

Public Notice – Vacant Adult Education & Literacy Activities Seat on the SBWIB

The South Bay Workforce Investment Board (SBWIB), a California Workforce Development Board currently has a vacant seat on the Board with a term expiring Jun 30, 2027. To fill the vacant seat, the SBWIB is accepting interest letters from representatives of providers administering adult education and literacy activities under Title II.

The submission deadline for all interest letters is August 13, by 12:00 p.m. (PST). The interest letters should be sent via email to

Details regarding the SBWIB can be found at .


Jan Vogel

Executive Director/Chief Executive Officer

For over 40 years, Mr. Jan Vogel has served as the Executive Director of the SBWIB. The SBWIB has been a leader in workforce innovation and has received national awards for performance of workforce development activities for employment and business services, not only within Los Angeles County, but throughout Southern California.

Mission Statement

Using the most cost-effective services, and demand driven strategies, our mission is to build a world-class  workforce through strategic alliances with business, education and community partners. 

Vision Statement
SBWIB Cities logo_edited.jpg

We will promote an innovative workforce development system that supports job retention and creation, and accelerates economic growth in the South Bay region.

Our Board

Amber Meshack

Andrew Fowler

Armando Pena

Dr. Brenda Thames

Brigette Calderon

Carolyn Woodard

Catherine Holdbrook-Smith

Crystal Spencer

Donald Ford

Eduardo Leiva

Faisal Hashmi

Fran Fulton

Glenn Mitchell

J. Kim McNutt

Jackie Choi

Janice Jimenez

Jason Witt

Jeff Wilson

Jeffrey R. Jennison

Jeremy Diaz

Joe Ahn

John Matheson

Josh Lafarga

Ken Gomez

Dr. Kendrick Roberson

Kimberly Miller

Dr. Lance Williams

Louie Diaz

Mark Panger

Marc Weiss

Maria Camacho

Mike Costigan

Mike Harriel

Mike Talleda

Mitch Ponce

Mohammad Naser

Nayeem Khan

Patricia Bennett

Patricia Donaldson

Paul Russell

Roderick Edison

Ruthi Davis

Sanjay Murty

Sarah Gonzaga

Susan Senior

Tamala Lewis

Ted Cordova

Tod Sword

Tom Bakaly

Tonya Griffin

Walter Ahhaitty

Wayne Diulio

2022-2023 Program Year


Visits to the South Bay One-Stop Business & Career Centers


Employment Training Panel (ETP) Enrollments


National Scaling Apprenticeship Grant Enrollments Since 2019

bottom of page