​ABOUT SOUTH BAY WORKFORCE INVESTMENT BOARD

Jan Vogel

Executive Director/Chief Executive Officer

For over 37 years, Mr. Jan Vogel has served as the Executive Director of the South Bay Workforce Investment Board (SBWIB) which encompasses eleven cities in the Los Angeles South Bay region in California that includes: El Segundo, Gardena, Hawthorne, Hermosa Beach, Inglewood, Lawndale, Torrance, Lomita, Manhattan Beach, Redondo Beach, and Carson. 

 

The South Bay Workforce Investment Board has been a leader in workforce innovation and has received national awards for performance of workforce development activities for employment and business services, not only within Los Angeles County, but throughout Southern California. The SBWIB has also been recognized for being one of the highest performing Workforce Investment Boards in the state of California. 

 

Mr. Vogel is a leader in apprenticeship development and has initiated many efforts for establishing apprenticeship programs utilizing innovative approaches for employer engagement and job seeker recruitment for both union and non-union apprenticeship models.

Mission Statement

Using the most cost-effective services, and demand driven strategies, our mission is to build a world-class workforce through strategic alliances with business, education and community partners.

Central to this mission statement is collaboration among a wide range of stakeholders including business, labor, 

Vision Statement

We will promote an innovative workforce development system that supports job retention and creation, and accelerates economic growth in the South Bay region.

education, social services, philanthropic organizations and community-based agencies.

Our Board

Armando Pena

Billy C. Campbell

Bob Helfant

Brian Raber

Bruce Young

Carolyn Anderson

Carloyn Woodard

Chris Hannan

Chris Patronas

David Fleck

Dr. Dena Maloney

Ellenmary Michel

Faisal Hashmi

Fran Fulton

Glenn Mitchell

Gregg McClain

Hilda Shofani

Jamin Gallman

Jane Templin

Janice Jimenez

Jarmine DeArmas Mitchell

Jeffrey R. Jennison

Jeremy Diaz

Joe Ahn

Josh Lafarga

Kathy Wojno

Kendrick Roberson

Dr. Lance Williams

Lily Craig

Maria Camacho

Melissa Jean

Michael Brenk

Mike Harriel

Mitch Ponce

Mohammad Naser

Patricia Bennett

Patricia Donaldson

Ray Diab

Ray Grothaus

Ruthi Davis

Sanjay Murty

Sarah Gonzaga

Stella Li

Stephany Santin

Susan Senior

Tamala Lewis

Tami Lorenzen-Franselow

Tod Sword

Walter Ahhaitty

Wayne Diulio

Wayne Spencer

Our Team

Jan Vogel

Executive Director

jvogel@sbwib.org

Catherine Blaylock 

Contracts Manager 

cblaylock@sbwib.org

Chris Cagle

Regional Affairs Manager,

Marketing & PR Manager

Business Services

ccagle@sbwib.org

Dori Giulea 

Fiscal Manager

dgiulea@sbwib.org 

Justina  Munoz

Procurement Manager 

jmunoz@sbwib.org

Jon Hauer

Manager/Sr. Analyst - ITG

Jhauer@sbwib.org

Karmen White 

Human Resources Manager

hr@sbwib.org

 

Michael Trogan

Special Projects Development Manager  mtrogan@sbwib.org

Robert Chavez

One-Stop Operations Manager rchavez@sbwib.org 

Sheryl Singh 

Office Manager 

ssingh@sbwib.org  

Tamika Hambrick

MIS Manager

t.hambrick@sbwib.org

Tracey Atkins

GAIN Manager

tatkins@sbwib.org

S O U T H   B A Y   W O R K F O R C E                                     I N V E S T M E N T   B O A R D

A WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT BOARD

South Bay Workforce Investment Board
11539 Hawthorne Blvd., 5th Floor Hawthorne, CA 90250
Phone: (310) 970-7700
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

© 2020 by South Bay Workforce Investment Board. All rights reserved.

This WIOA Title 1 financially assisted program or activity is an equal opportunity employer/program. Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities

by calling in advance to CRS 1-800-735-2922 or 310-680-3700.