​ABOUT SOUTH BAY WORKFORCE INVESTMENT BOARD

Jan Vogel

Executive Director/Chief Executive Officer

For over 38 years, Mr. Jan Vogel has served as the Executive Director of the South Bay Workforce Investment Board (SBWIB) which encompasses eleven cities in the Los Angeles South Bay region in California that includes: El Segundo, Gardena, Hawthorne, Hermosa Beach, Inglewood, Lawndale, Torrance, Lomita, Manhattan Beach, Redondo Beach, and Carson. 

 

The South Bay Workforce Investment Board has been a leader in workforce innovation and has received national awards for performance of workforce development activities for employment and business services, not only within Los Angeles County, but throughout Southern California. The SBWIB has also been recognized for being one of the highest performing Workforce Investment Boards in the state of California. 

 

Mr. Vogel is a leader in apprenticeship development and has initiated many efforts for establishing apprenticeship programs utilizing innovative approaches for employer engagement and job seeker recruitment for both union and non-union apprenticeship models.

Mission Statement

Using the most cost-effective services, and demand driven strategies, our mission is to build a world-class workforce through strategic alliances with business, education and community partners.

Central to this mission statement is collaboration among a wide range of stakeholders including business, labor, 

Vision Statement

We will promote an innovative workforce development system that supports job retention and creation, and accelerates economic growth in the South Bay region.

education, social services, philanthropic organizations and community-based agencies.

Our Board

Andrew Fowler

Armando Pena

Billy C. Campbell

Bruce Young

Carolyn Woodard

Chris Dougherty

Chris Hannan

Chris Patronas

David Fleck

Dr. Dena Maloney

Donald Ford

Ellenmary Michel

Faisal Hashmi

Fran Fulton

Glenn Mitchell

Gregg McClain

Hilda Shofani

J. Kim McNutt

Jamin Gallman

Janice Jimenez

Jeffrey R. Jennison

Jeremy Diaz

Joe Ahn

Josh Lafarga

Ken Gomez

Kendrick Roberson

Kevan Metcalfe

Dr. Lance Williams

Lily Craig

Marc Weiss

Maria Camacho

Michael Brenk

Mike Costigan

Mike Harriel

Mitch Ponce

Mohammad Naser

Patricia Bennett

Patricia Donaldson

Roderick Edison

Ruthi Davis

Sanjay Murty

Sarah Gonzaga

Spencer Dela Cruz

Stella Li

Susan Senior

Tamala Lewis

Tami Lorenzen-Franselow

Ted Cordova

Tod Sword

Tom Bakaly

Tonya Griffin

Walter Ahhaitty

Wayne Diulio

Wayne Spencer

Our Team

Jan Vogel

Executive Director

jvogel@sbwib.org

Laura Bischoff

Contracts Manager 

lbischoff@sbwib.org

Chris Cagle

Regional Affairs, Marketing, 
& Special Projects
ccagle@sbwib.org 

Cameron Cox

IT Manager

ccox@sbwib.org

Dori Giulea 

Fiscal Manager

dgiulea@sbwib.org 

Justina Munoz

Procurement Manager 

jmunoz@sbwib.org

Dawn White 

Human Resources Manager

hr@sbwib.org

 

Michael Trogan

Special Projects Development Manager  mtrogan@sbwib.org

Robert Chavez

One-Stop Operations Manager rchavez@sbwib.org 

Sha'Ron Berry

Office Manager 

sberry@sbwib.org  

Tamika Hambrick

MIS Manager

t.hambrick@sbwib.org

Tracey Atkins

GAIN Manager

tatkins@sbwib.org